*SEE BELOW for links to VIDEOS related to Rush History.*
Learn more about the Time Capsules salvaged from the cornerstones of historic Rush buildings that were demolished in 2016:
Learn more about the Historic Salvage Project for the demolished Superblock buildings:
Hosted by Rush Alumni Relations: A virtual event featuring Rush University Medical Center archivist, Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS, and a student representative for Rush's Racial Justice Action Committee and current third-year in the medical college, Niyi Soetan. We will start by exploring Rush's past and how Rush Medical College awarded David Jones Peck, MD, a doctor of medicine degree in 1847, making him the first Black person to receive this distinction from an American medical school. While learning more about Dr. Peck and his history at Rush, Niyi will help connect the past to the present with his personal experiences in medical school as a Black man and how that dovetails with current diversity and anti-racism efforts at Rush. [Presented September 30, 2020.] [LINK]
Rush Archives Service Hours:
THE RUSH ARCHIVES IS CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE DUE TO COVID-19 PRECAUTIONS ON THE RUSH CAMPUS.
WE WILL TRY TO ASSIST RESEARCHERS AS BEST WE CAN USING DIGITAL RESOURCES.
PLEASE EXPLORE THIS WEBPAGE AND OUR ONLINE RESOURCES BEFORE CONTACTING THE RUSH ARCHIVES FOR ASSISTANCE.
Thank you for your patience during this unpredictable time.
Contact the Archivist:
Outside of Service Hours: For very urgent requests outside of service hours, please contact the Library of Rush at firstname.lastname@example.org
Note for researchers: Internal reference requests are given precedence. External requests will be addressed as time allows. However, our website will lead you to a number of digital resources from the Rush Archives that may meet your information needs.
Visiting the Rush Archives: In-person visits from researchers from outside of Rush must be approved by the archivist ahead of time.
Location: 1700 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 086, Chicago, IL 60612.
Using our Material in your Publication/Exhibit/Presentation: Contact the Archivist for a Permission to Publish form and fee table.
Citing our Collections: Footnotes or captions should indicate the collection or other identifying information from our finding aids. Please contact the Archivist for more information. Basic format for citation:
[Identification of item], in the [Name of Collection] [Collection Number], Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill.
Looking for Medical Records/Patient Records? Visit Rush University Medical Center's Health Information Management Office. [link]
The Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill., is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University.
The Rush Archives strives to tell the story of Rush and its esteemed history of education, research, patient care, and community leadership in a meaningful way through our collections.
The Rush Archives holds almost 3000 linear feet of material from Rush and its predecessor schools and hospitals going back to the founding of Rush Medical College in 1837, two days before the city of Chicago was incorporated. The Rush Archives also includes the personal papers of many individuals related to those institutions. Photographs, audiovisual material, paintings, artifacts, nursing school uniforms and caps, and digital assets document the history of Rush, also.
The Rush Archives preserves, identifies, organizes, and provides access to records of long-term historical, evidential, and administrative value to the institution.
Follow the Rush Archives on Twitter: @RushArchives
We're counting down to the 50th Anniversary of Rush University, 2022! Follow our #RU50 hashtag on Twitter for a new year each week!
Subscribe to the Rush Archives Blog: rushu.libguides.com/blog
The Rush Archives COVID-19 Collection needs you! rushu.libguides.com/rusharchives/COVIDCollection