Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rush University Medical Center Archives: Rush Records (1969-present) [RUMC and Rush University]

Welcome to the Rush University Medical Center Archives. The Rush Archives, a department of the Library of Rush University Medical Center, is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University.

RUSH UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER and RUSH UNIVERSITY

Rush records (1969-present) include the non-patient and non-student records of Rush University Medical Center (Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center), Rush University, their departments and committees. The following lists of collections are a LIMITED SAMPLE of the materials in the Rush Archives. Please contact the archivist for more information.

  1. Good Medicine coverResearch Tip: For records before 1969, please explore this page [link].
  2. Research Tip: Want to do a quick search to answer your post-1969 question? Click on the links below and conduct a keyword search!

Contact the archivist for more information about the following Rush Institutional Records:

  • Office of the President
  • Board of Trustees 
  • Rush University and its four colleges, Rush Medical College, the College of Nursing, College of Health Sciences, and Graduate College
  • Dean of Rush Medical College, 1924-present (Older records of this office can be found within the Rush Medical College Records)
  • Medical Staff Office
  • Professional Nursing Staff
  • Office of Philanthropy
  • Marketing and Communications
  • Woman's Board of Rush University Medical Center
  • Alumni Association of Rush Medical College
  • Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Nurses Alumni Association
  • Golden Lamp Society
  • Benjamin Rush Society
  • Formerly Affiliated Hospitals (Mile Square Health Center, Sheridan Road Hospital, etc.)
  • Various Rush University Medical Center and Rush University departments, centers, institutions, committees, and divisions.

The Rush Archives preserves full runs of recent and current Rush-related newsletters, including the following titles:

  • News Releases Collection, 1956-2005 ***[see note below]***
  • NewsRounds Collection (Rush's longest-running newsletter), 1963-continuing ***[see note below]***
  • Discover Rush Collection (community health newsletter), 2004-continuing
  • The Magazine (continuation of the Bulletin of the Alumni Association of RMC until 1980; and continuation of The Newsletter, 1956-1974), 1975-1993 [The Magazine includes articles on research at Rush, news from various departments, and pictures and speeches from Rush University's commencements.  As its name suggests, the Magazine has a glossy magazine format.]
  • The Newsletter Collection (newsletter for Development Program and the Public Relations Department), 1956-1974
  • A Record and RushRecord, (newsletter of the Alumni Association of Rush Medical College)1980-1994
  • Rush MD Collection (newsletter of the Alumni Association of Rush Medical College), 1995-2012
  • Rush Record Collection (newsletter about research at Rush, medical news, and included issues of Rush MD and News and Views) 1995-2004 
  • Rush Physician Collection (newsletter for the Medical Staff of RPSLMC/Rush University Medical Center), 1995-2014
  • Nursing Notes Collection (newsletter of the Division of Nursing, RPSLMC), 1971-1985
  • Alumni News and Views Collection (newsletter of the Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Nurses Alumni Association), 1961-2008, 2011
  • Rush Reporter Collection (Rush University Student Affairs newsletter), 1975-1999
  • InfoLine Collection (newsletter of the Library of Rush University), 1990-2008
  • Rush Alzheimer's Disease Center Newsletter Collection, 1988-2000
  • Campaign for Rush Vision & Values Newsletter Collection, 1991-1997
  • Rush Partnerships Collection (newsletter for friends of RPSLMC), 1998-2004
  • Network Collection (newsletter about Rush Network Hospitals and their Medical, Scientific, and Nursing Staffs), 1972-1985
  • Suicide Research Digest Collection (newsletter of the Center for Suicide Research and Prevention in the Department of Psychology at RPSLMC), 1987-1992
  • Health Law Report Collection (newsletter related to health and hospital law and medical ethics from the Office of Legal Affairs), 1993-2003
  • Bulletin Collection (internal newsletter for RPSLMC), 1972-1974
  • Insights into Clinical and Scientific Progress in Medicine Collection, RPSLMC, 1977-1994
  • Medical Center Memo Collection (RPSLMC event and news broadside), 1976-1988
  • Rush Ethics Reporter Collection (healthcare ethics news), 1991-1996
  • Rush Express Collection (bi-weekly employee bulletin), 1995-2002
  • News Tips Collection (research bulletin), 1990-1997
  • Healthy Perspective Collection (health news and advice, health research), 1993-1996
  • and many, many more...

*** To search issue summaries of the NewsRounds newsletter, Rush's newsletter since 1963, please explore the following PDF and contact the Archivist for more information:  [NewsRounds has been digitized and is available online. It is keyword searchable and downloadable in a variety of formats.] ***

*** To search a list of News Releases, 1956-2005, please explore the following PDF and contact the Archivist for more information: [We are in the process of digitizing our News Releases!] ***

Using the Rush Archives

Rush Archives Service Hours: 

The Rush Archives offers on-site services one day a week. Often, we can assist researchers using digital resources.

Please explore this webpage and our online resources before contacting the Rush Archives for assistance.

Contact the Archivist: 

Submit Request to Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS, Archivist: Ask the Rush Archives [link]

Ask the Archives buttonOutside of Service Hours:  For very urgent requests outside of service hours, please contact the Library of Rush at lib_ref@rush.edu

Note for researchers: Internal reference requests are given precedence. External requests will be addressed as time allows. However, our website will lead you to a number of digital resources from the Rush Archives that may meet your information needs.

Visiting the Rush Archives: In-person visits from researchers from outside of Rush must be approved by the archivist ahead of time.

Location: 1700 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 086, Chicago, IL 60612.

Using our Material in your Publication/Exhibit/Presentation: Contact the Archivist for a Permission to Publish form and fee table.

Citing our Collections: Footnotes or captions should indicate the collection or other identifying information from our finding aids. Please contact the Archivist for more information. Basic format for citation:

[Identification of item], in the [Name of Collection] [Collection Number], Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill.

Looking for Medical Records/Patient Records? Visit Rush University Medical Center's Health Information Management Office. [link]

Looking for Student Records/Transcripts? Visit Rush University's Office of the Registrar. [link]

Looking for Verification/Credentials for Residency or Fellowship Programs? Visit Graduate Medical Education. [link]

Looking for Birth, Death or other Vital Records? Visit the Illinois Department of Public Health. [link]

About Our Collections

The Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill., is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University.

The Rush Archives strives to tell the story of Rush and its esteemed history of education, research, patient care, and community leadership in a meaningful way through our collections.

The Rush Archives holds almost 3000 linear feet of material from Rush and its predecessor schools and hospitals going back to the founding of Rush Medical College in 1837, two days before the city of Chicago was incorporated. The Rush Archives also includes the personal papers of many individuals related to those institutions. Photographs, audiovisual material, paintings, artifacts, nursing school uniforms and caps, and digital assets document the history of Rush, also. 

The Rush Archives preserves, identifies, organizes, and provides access to records of long-term historical, evidential, and administrative value to the institution. 

Follow the Rush Archives on Twitter: @RushArchives

We're counting down to the 50th Anniversary of Rush University, 2022! Follow our #RU50 hashtag on Twitter for a new year each week!

Subscribe to the Rush Archives Blogrushu.libguides.com/blog

The Rush Archives COVID-19 Collection needs you! rushu.libguides.com/rusharchives/COVIDCollection

-Rush is a proud member of the Chicago Collections Consortium.

Maps and Directions

.