Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rush University Medical Center Archives: Photograph Collections

Welcome to the Rush University Medical Center Archives. The Rush Archives, a department of the Library of Rush University Medical Center, is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University.

Photograph Collections

The Rush Archives holds thousands of photographs related to Rush from the 1870s to the present day.

  • Flickr: To explore a selection of our most well-known images, visit our Flickr page.
  • Internet Archive: You can also find interesting pictures within our digitized annual reports, newsletters, and yearbooks. Explore these items online through the Internet Archive.
  • Class Photographs: The Rush Archives holds class photographs from Rush Medical College, the nursing schools of St. Luke's, Presbyterian, and Presbyterian-St. Luke's Hospitals, and for Rush University. Below are descriptions of class photographs for our predecessor schools, which include names of alumni. *Contact the Archivist to learn more.
  • CARLI* Digital Collections: Our oldest Rush Medical College Class Composites  (1879-1920) are available online through CARLI Digital Collections. Looking for a class photo after 1920? Contact the Rush Archives. [*Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois.]
  • Chicago Collections Consortium: To search some Rush Archives photos alongside other Chicago institutions', visit the Chicago Collections Consortium's Explore portal.
  • When in doubt, contact the Rush Archives! Many photographs are not available online...yet!
Rush Archives Featured Photos

Photos from the Y2K Task Force Collection, December 31, 1999

Rush New Year's Eve Party, MCE, 1999

Rush New Year's Eve Party, Medical Center Engineering staff, 1999

Rush New Year's Eve Party, 1999

Rush New Year's Eve Party, 1999

Rush New Year's Eve Party, 1999

Rush New Year's Eve Party, 1999

Rush New Year's Eve Party, 1999

Rush New Year's Eve Party, 1999

Rush New Year's Eve Party, 1999

Rush New Year's Eve Party, 1999

Rush New Year's Eve Party, the Trufants, 1999

Rush New Year's Eve Party, Jack Trufant, EdD, Associate Provost, Vice President of Academic Resources, Dean of CHS and GC, and wife, Judith, 1999.

Rush employees were invited to sign a poster with their wishes for the new year. Mrs. Trufant wished for advancements for women's rights in the new millennium.

New Year's Eve at Rush, 1999, one more PC check-up

New Year's Eve at Rush, 1999, one more PC check-up

New Year's Eve around Rush, 1999

New Year's Eve around Rush, 1999

New Year's Eve around Rush, 1999

New Year's Eve around Rush, 1999

New Year's Eve around Rush, 1999

New Year's Eve around Rush, 1999

New Year's Eve around Rush, Security, 1999

New Year's Eve around Rush, Security, 1999

New Year's Eve at Rush, 1999, Larry Coleman, RRT

New Year's Eve at Rush, 1999: Larry Coleman, RRT, Department of Respiratory Care, keeps a flashlight handy for midnight, just in case.

Y2K T-shirt, Y2K Task Force Collection

Y2K T-shirt, Y2K Task Force Collection, Rush University Medical Center Archives

Floppy disk, Y2K Task Force Collection

Y2K logo on a floppy disk

The Rush Archives usually does not maintain floppy disks, but we decided taking a photo of this particular item in the Y2K Task Force Collection would help represent late 1990s era technology.

About Our Collections

The Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill., is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University.

The Rush Archives strives to tell the story of Rush and its esteemed history of education, research, patient care, and community leadership in a meaningful way through our collections.

The Rush Archives holds almost 3000 linear feet of material from Rush and its predecessor schools and hospitals going back to the founding of Rush Medical College in 1837, two days before the city of Chicago was incorporated. The Rush Archives also includes the personal papers of many individuals related to those institutions. Photographs, audiovisual material, paintings, artifacts, nursing school uniforms and caps, and digital assets document the history of Rush, also. 

The Rush Archives preserves, identifies, organizes, and provides access to records of long-term historical, evidential, and administrative value to the institution. 

Follow the Rush Archives on Twitter: @RushArchives

We're counting down to the 50th Anniversary of Rush University, 2022! Follow our #RU50 hashtag on Twitter for a new year each week!

Subscribe to the Rush Archives Blogrushu.libguides.com/blog

The Rush Archives COVID-19 Collection needs you! rushu.libguides.com/rusharchives/COVIDCollection

Using the Rush Archives

Rush Archives Service Hours: 

THE RUSH ARCHIVES IS CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE DUE TO COVID-19 PRECAUTIONS ON THE RUSH CAMPUS.

WE WILL TRY TO ASSIST RESEARCHERS AS BEST WE CAN USING DIGITAL RESOURCES.

PLEASE EXPLORE THIS WEBPAGE AND OUR ONLINE RESOURCES BEFORE CONTACTING THE RUSH ARCHIVES FOR ASSISTANCE.

Thank you for your patience during this unpredictable time. 

Contact the Archivist: 

Submit Request to Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS, Archivist: Ask the Rush Archives [link]

Ask the Archives buttonOutside of Service Hours:  For very urgent requests outside of service hours, please contact the Library of Rush at lib_ref@rush.edu

Note for researchers: Internal reference requests are given precedence. External requests will be addressed as time allows. However, our website will lead you to a number of digital resources from the Rush Archives that may meet your information needs.

Visiting the Rush Archives: In-person visits from researchers from outside of Rush must be approved by the archivist ahead of time.

Location: 1700 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 086, Chicago, IL 60612.

Using our Material in your Publication/Exhibit/Presentation: Contact the Archivist for a Permission to Publish form and fee table.

Citing our Collections: Footnotes or captions should indicate the collection or other identifying information from our finding aids. Please contact the Archivist for more information. Basic format for citation:

[Identification of item], in the [Name of Collection] [Collection Number], Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill.

Looking for Medical Records/Patient Records? Visit Rush University Medical Center's Health Information Management Office. [link]

Looking for Student Records/Transcripts? Visit Rush University's Office of the Registrar. [link]

Looking for Birth, Death or other Vital Records? Visit the Illinois Department of Public Health. [link]

Maps and Directions

.