Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rush University Medical Center Archives: Personal Papers

Welcome to the Rush University Medical Center Archives. The Rush Archives, a department of the Library of Rush University Medical Center, is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University.

Personal Papers

Personal papers include material from individuals related to Rush University Medical Center, Rush University, and their predecessor schools and hospitals, such as... 

  • Faculty 
  • Medical and Nursing Staff
  • Alumni 
  • Administrators and other staff or employees

Here are descriptions for a few of those collections. Contact the archivist for more information.

The Rush Archives holds the personal papers of many other Rush-related individuals. Please contact the Rush Archives to learn more.

  • Robert M. Kark, MD, Papers, 1957-1993 (M93-055)
  • Frank Victor Theis, MD, Papers, 1936-1960 (M95-002)
  • Joseph Stadler, MD, and Charles Stadler, MD, Papers, 1838-1913 (M94-020)
  • Harold L. Klawans, MD, Papers (M92-011 and M96- 007)
  • Paul J. Patchen, MD, Papers (M94-086)
  • Howard Wakefield, MD, Papers (M95-008)
  • Anita Gelber, MD, Papers (M95-011)
  • George D. Wilbanks, MD, Papers (C96-067), [Chairman, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology]
  • And many more...

About Our Collections

The Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill., is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University.

The Rush Archives strives to tell the story of Rush and its esteemed history of education, research, patient care, and community leadership in a meaningful way through our collections.

The Rush Archives holds almost 3000 linear feet of material from Rush and its predecessor schools and hospitals going back to the founding of Rush Medical College in 1837, two days before the city of Chicago was incorporated. The Rush Archives also includes the personal papers of many individuals related to those institutions. Photographs, audiovisual material, paintings, artifacts, nursing school uniforms and caps, and digital assets document the history of Rush, also. 

The Rush Archives preserves, identifies, organizes, and provides access to records of long-term historical, evidential, and administrative value to the institution. 

Follow the Rush Archives on Twitter: @RushArchives

We're counting down to the 50th Anniversary of Rush University, 2022! Follow our #RU50 hashtag on Twitter for a new year each week!

Subscribe to the Rush Archives Blogrushu.libguides.com/blog

The Rush Archives COVID-19 Collection needs you! rushu.libguides.com/rusharchives/COVIDCollection

-Rush is a proud member of the Chicago Collections Consortium.

Using the Rush Archives

Rush Archives Service Hours: 

The Rush Archives offers on-site services one day a week. Often, we can assist researchers using digital resources.

Please explore this webpage and our online resources before contacting the Rush Archives for assistance.

Contact the Archivist: 

Submit Request to Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS, Archivist: Ask the Rush Archives [link]

Ask the Archives buttonOutside of Service Hours:  For very urgent requests outside of service hours, please contact the Library of Rush at lib_ref@rush.edu

Note for researchers: Internal reference requests are given precedence. External requests will be addressed as time allows. However, our website will lead you to a number of digital resources from the Rush Archives that may meet your information needs.

Visiting the Rush Archives: In-person visits from researchers from outside of Rush must be approved by the archivist ahead of time.

Location: 1700 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 086, Chicago, IL 60612.

Using our Material in your Publication/Exhibit/Presentation: Contact the Archivist for a Permission to Publish form and fee table.

Citing our Collections: Footnotes or captions should indicate the collection or other identifying information from our finding aids. Please contact the Archivist for more information. Basic format for citation:

[Identification of item], in the [Name of Collection] [Collection Number], Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill.

Looking for Medical Records/Patient Records? Visit Rush University Medical Center's Health Information Management Office. [link]

Looking for Student Records/Transcripts? Visit Rush University's Office of the Registrar. [link]

Looking for Verification/Credentials for Residency or Fellowship Programs? Visit Graduate Medical Education. [link]

Looking for Birth, Death or other Vital Records? Visit the Illinois Department of Public Health. [link]

Maps and Directions

.