Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rush University Medical Center Archives: Presbyterian-St. Luke's Hospital, 1956-1969

Welcome to the Rush University Medical Center Archives. The Rush Archives, a department of the Library of Rush University Medical Center, is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University.

PRESBYTERIAN-ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL, 1956-1969

Brief History of PRESBYTERIAN-ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL:

  • PSLH seal1956: Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Hospital was the product of the April 1956 merger of St. Luke’s Hospital, founded in 1864, and Presbyterian Hospital, founded in 1883. The nursing schools merged to become Presbyterian-St. Luke's Hospital School of Nursing.
  • 1959: The physical merger of the two hospitals occurred in 1959 when the staff of St. Luke’s Hospital moved to the Presbyterian Hospital campus at the intersection of West Congress Parkway and South Wood Street in Chicago.  The new institution constructed the New East Pavilion building (renamed the John L. and Helen Kellogg Pavilion in 1979) to accommodate the merger and the growth of the hospital. Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Hospital maintained Presbyterian Hospital’s teaching hospital relationship with the University of Illinois at Chicago.  
  • 1960: The John F. Jelke and Louanna Frazier Jelke Memorial Building opened in 1960, followed soon after by the Jelke South building which expanded Jelke further west. 
  • 1969: Rush Medical College was revived from its closure in 1942, and Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Hospital voted to merge with the school to form Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Medical Center.

Brief History of PRESBYTERIAN-ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL SCHOOL OF NURSING:

  • PSLHSN seal1956: Presbyterian-St. Luke's Hospital School of Nursing (PSLHSN) was created upon the merger of Presbyterian Hospital and St. Luke's Hospital and their nursing schools.
  • 1968: The school closed in 1968 after graduating its ninth class.
  • 1969: Presbyterian-St. Luke's Hospital hospital affiliated with Rush Medical College, which was re-activated after closing in 1942. This corporation became Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center in 1969.
  • 1972: Rush University was established, and its College of Nursing and Allied Health Sciences admitted its first students in 1973, continuing our institution's long legacy of nursing education.

Several items from the Presbyterian-St. Luke's Hospital Records, #4706, and Presbyterian-St. Luke's Hospital School of Nursing Records, #4778, have been digitized and are available online.

More resources related to Presbyterian-St. Luke's Hospital:

  • ***You can explore issue summaries of the hospital's NewsRounds newsletter or search a list of News Releases, 1956-2005, by visiting the PDFs below. Please contact the Rush Archives for more information. [We hope to digitize our collection of News Releases very soon!]
  • Explore the Personal Papers of many individuals related to Presbyterian-St. Luke's Hospital. Click on the "Personal Papers" tab above for more information.
  • selection of photographs related to Presbyterian-St. Luke's Hospital and its nursing school can be found in our Flickr collection.
Presbyterian-St. Luke's Hospital, 1956-1969

Using the Rush Archives

Rush Archives Service Hours: 

THE RUSH ARCHIVES IS CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE DUE TO COVID-19 PRECAUTIONS ON THE RUSH CAMPUS.

WE WILL TRY TO ASSIST RESEARCHERS AS BEST WE CAN USING DIGITAL RESOURCES.

PLEASE EXPLORE THIS WEBPAGE AND OUR ONLINE RESOURCES BEFORE CONTACTING THE RUSH ARCHIVES FOR ASSISTANCE.

Thank you for your patience during this unpredictable time. 

Contact the Archivist: 

Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS / (312) 942-6358

Outside of Service Hours:  For very urgent requests outside of service hours, please contact the Library of Rush at lib_ref@rush.edu

Note for researchers: Internal reference requests are given precedence. External requests will be addressed as time allows. However, our website will lead you to a number of digital resources from the Rush Archives that may meet your information needs.

Visiting the Rush Archives: In-person visits from researchers from outside of Rush must be approved by the archivist ahead of time.

Location: 1700 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 086, Chicago, IL 60612.

Using our Material in your Publication/Exhibit/Presentation: Contact the Archivist for a Permission to Publish form and fee table.

Citing our Collections: Footnotes or captions should indicate the collection or other identifying information from our finding aids. Please contact the Archivist for more information. Basic format for citation:

[Identification of item], in the [Name of Collection] [Collection Number], Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill.

Looking for Medical Records/Patient Records? Visit Rush University Medical Center's Health Information Management Office. [link]

Looking for Student Records/Transcripts? Visit Rush University's Office of the Registrar. [link]

Looking for Birth, Death or other Vital Records? Visit the Illinois Department of Public Health. [link]

About Our Collections

The Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill., is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University.

The Rush Archives strives to tell the story of Rush and its esteemed history of education, research, patient care, and community leadership in a meaningful way through our collections.

The Rush Archives holds almost 3000 linear feet of material from Rush and its predecessor schools and hospitals going back to the founding of Rush Medical College in 1837, two days before the city of Chicago was incorporated. The Rush Archives also includes the personal papers of many individuals related to those institutions. Photographs, audiovisual material, paintings, artifacts, nursing school uniforms and caps, and digital assets document the history of Rush, also. 

The Rush Archives preserves, identifies, organizes, and provides access to records of long-term historical, evidential, and administrative value to the institution. 

Follow the Rush Archives on Twitter: @RushArchives

Subscribe to the Rush Archives Blogrushu.libguides.com/blog

The Rush Archives COVID-19 Collection needs you! rushu.libguides.com/rusharchives/COVIDCollection

Maps and Directions

.