Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Guide

This guide includes information that will assist you with completing advanced searches for your DNP project.

Data, Tools, and Statistics

  • 2015 Health Care Cost and Utilization Report - (Health Care Cost Institute (HCCI) USA) 

    The report tracks changes in health care prices, utilization, and spending for people younger than 65 covered by employer-sponsored health insurance, as well as including snapshots of spending and out-of-pocket spending in 17 states and the District of Columbia.

  • AHRQ Quality Indicators - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HHS) 

    Set of quality indicators organized into four "modules," each of which measures quality associated with processes of care that occurred in an outpatient or an inpatient setting to highlight potential quality concerns, identify areas that need further study and investigation, and track changes over time.

  • BirthTools.org

    Resources and tools for optimizing patient safety related to labor and delivery from the American College of Nurse-Midwives. Includes patient education and model policies.

  • CAHPS® Hospital Survey (H-CAHPS) - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HHS) 

    Public-private initiative to develop standardized surveys of patients' experiences with ambulatory and facility-level care.

  • CUSP Toolkit - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HHS) 

    Comprehensive Unit-based Safety Program has developed this toolkit to assist in the training of the key principles that increase safety.

  • Care Coordination Quality Measure for Primary Care (CCQM-PC) - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HHS) 

    The CCQM-PC is a survey of adult patients' experiences with care coordination in primary care settings. It is designed to be used in primary care research and evaluation, with potential applications to primary care quality improvement.

  • Communication and Optimal Resolution (CANDOR) Toolkit - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HHS) 

    This AHRQ toolkit, based on the CANDOR process (which is implemented to respond to unexpected events which cause patient harm), is intended to assist hospitals in implementing communication and optimal resolution programs.

  • Community Tool to Align Measurement - (National Quality Forum (NQF) USA) 

    NQF's Community Tool to Align Measurement (Alignment Tool), developed in collaboration with the 16 Robert Wood Johnson Foundation - Aligning Forces for Quality (AF4Q) community alliances, supports decisions to align measurement and public reporting. The Alignment Tool is a snapshot in time (as of February 2012) of the measures in use by the 16 AF4Q Alliances.

  • Compendium of U.S. Health Systems, 2016 (September 2017) - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HHS) 

    Compendium of 626 U.S. health systems, defined in this analysis to include at least one hospital and at least one group of physicians providing comprehensive care, and who are connected with each other and with the hospital through common ownership or joint management.

  • Comprehensive Assessment of Reform Efforts (COMPARE) - (RAND Corporation USA) 

    COMPARE is a transparent, evidence-based approach to providing information and tools to help policymakers, the media, and other interested parties understand, design, and evaluate health policies.

  • HSRR (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources) - (National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR), NLM) 

    HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software employed in Health Services Research, the Behavioral and Social Sciences and Public Health. The database includes brief descriptions of research resources and links to PubMed.

  • Healthcare Communities - (Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), HHS) 

    HealthcareCommunities.org (HC) is a web-based knowledge management system that provides multiple means for the healthcare quality improvement community to share knowledge and contribute to each others' QI work.

  • Healthcare Transparency - (New York State Health Foundation USA) 

    Database of national health care transparency tools, divided into four categories: physicians, hospitals, prescription drug pricing, and health insurance purchasing.

  • Hospital Compare - (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), HHS) 

    Hospital Compare is a consumer-oriented website that provides information on how well hospitals provide recommended care to their patients. On this site, the consumer can see the recommended care that an adult should get if being treated for a heart attack, heart failure, or pneumonia or having surgery

  • Hospital Safety Grade - (Leapfrog Group USA) 

    Research the scores hospitals have received relevant to patient safety, errors, injuries, accidents, and infections.

  • Improving Your Laboratory Testing Process - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HHS) 

    The tools in this step-by-step guide can increase the reliability of the testing process in your office by helping you examine how tests are managed.

  • Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) Map - (Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI)) 

    This map is a free, open resource for those interested in sharing IHI's mission of improving health care. This includes access to various "How To Guides," for example, prevent ventilator-associated pneumonia; prevent surgical site infection; prevent adverse drug events, etc.

  • Kaiser State Health Facts - (Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF) USA) 

    Provides health data on more than 700 health topics including demographics, health insurance coverage, health costs, minority health, and women's health for all 50 states.

  • Leading Health Indicators - (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) USA) 

    Healthy People 2020 provides a comprehensive set of 10-year, national goals and objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Healthy People 2020 contains 42 topic areas with more than 1,200 objectives. A smaller set of Healthy People 2020 objectives, called Leading Health Indicators (LHIs), have been selected to communicate high-priority health issues and actions that can be taken to address them.

  • MIPSCast - (Altarum Institute USA) 

    MIPScast™ is a tool designed to calculate a clinician or practice's Merit-based Incentive Payment System or MIPS Final Score under the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services' Quality Payment Program.

  • NCQA Health Insurance Plan Ratings 2017-2018 - (National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA)) 

    NCQA rated more than 1,000 insurance plans based on quality, member satisfaction, and accreditation survey results, focusing on care outcomes and patient opinion. Ratings are searchable by state, type, and plan name.

  • NHQRDRNet Online Query System - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HHS) 

    Online query system that allows you to access national and state data on the quality of, and access to, health care from scientifically credible measures and data sources. This is an interactive tool to explore data from the National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports.

  • National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators - (American Nurses Association (ANA) USA) 

    Proprietary database of the American Nurses Association. The database collects and evaluates unit-specific nurse-sensitive data from hospitals in the United States.

  • National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HHS) 

    This website includes access to all reports from this series, as well as a data query section, which allows researchers to find data based on geographic, subject, and topic area.

  • National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HHS) 

    Provides state-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help state officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their state.

  • National Practitioner Data Banks - (Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), HHS) 

    The Division of Practitioner Data Banks (DPDB) is responsible for the implementation of the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB). The NPDB and HIPDB are alert or flagging systems intended to facilitate a comprehensive review of the professional credentials of health care practitioners, providers, and suppliers

  • PROSPERO - (University of York UNITED KINGDOM) 

    PROSPERO consists of over 800 records, giving details of systematic reviews being undertaken in 33 different countries.

  • Patient Safety Network (PSNet) - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HHS) 

    A web-based resource featuring the latest news and essential resources on patient safety. The site offers weekly updates of patient safety literature, news, tools, and meetings ("What's New"), and a vast set of carefully annotated links to important research and other information on patient safety ("The Collection").

  • Patient Safety Primers - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HHS) 

    This series of resources discuss methods of improving communication between clinicians in the context of routine patient care and emergency situations.

  • QPS: Quality Positioning System - (National Quality Forum (NQF) USA) 

    QPS is a new tool to help individuals find NQF-endorsed measures quickly and easily.

  • Quality Care Finder - (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), HHS) 

    This link provides access to Quality Care Finder, a website which provides consumers with access to all of Medicare's Compare tools -- e.g., comparison information on hospitals, nursing homes and plans.

  • Quality-Spending Interactive - (Commonwealth Fund) 

    This interactive tool displays the relationship between health care quality and spending for Medicare patients within a state or local area.

  • QualityNet - (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), HHS) 

    Tool for use by hospitals to electronically submit their notice of participation for the Hospital Inpatient Quality Reporting Program- formerly known as Reporting Hospital

  • ROI Forecasting Calculator for Quality Initiatives - (Center for Health Care Strategies (CHCS) USA) 

    The ROI Forecasting Calculator is designed to help Medicaid stakeholders assess and demonstrate a return on investment (ROI) from projects to improve quality in health care.

  • Re-Engineered Discharge (RED) Toolkit - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HHS) 

    This toolkit was designed to assist hospitals in reducing readmissions and posthospital emergency department visits. It is specifically designed for those institutions serving diverse populations. It introduces a new component of overcoming language barriers and literacy issues.

  • Tools: Interactive Tables and Data - (National Center for Health Statistics, CDC (NCHS)) 

    The Community Health Data Initiative is a collaborative effort among government and non-government partners to establish a network of suppliers and demanders of community health data, indicators, and interventions. Its purpose is to help Americans understand health and health care system performance in their communities, thereby sparking and facilitating action to improve performance and value.

  • VA Hospital Compare - (Health Services Research and Development Service (HSR&D), VA) 

    Key elements of the VA's transparency initiative involve public presentation of health system and facility data about quality of care and safety. Examples include VA's Hospital Compare website, which provides outcomes and process data for selected diagnoses, and the ASPIRE dashboard, which reports quality and safety goals for all VA hospitals.

  • Value-Based Care Assessment Tool - (Rural Policy Research Institute (RUPRI) USA, StratisHealth USA, University of Iowa, College of Public Health USA) 

    Use the Rural Health Value Team's comprehensive Value-Based Care Strategic Planning Tool (VBC Tool) to assess 121 different value-based care capacities in eight categories. After completion, users receive a Value-Based Care Readiness Report that can be used to assess an organization's readiness for value-based care and to develop value-based care action plans.

  • Why Not the Best? Comparative Health Care Performance Data - (Commonwealth Fund) 

    Free resource for health care professionals interested in tracking performance on various measures of health care quality. It enables organizations to compare their performance against that of peer organizations, against a range of benchmarks, and over time. Case studies and improvement tools spotlight successful improvement strategies of the nation's top performers.

  • e-Source: Behavioral and Social Science Research - (Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research (OBSSR), NIH) 

    20 interactive chapters with authoritative answers to methodological questions on behavioral and social science research. With contributions from a team of international experts, this anthology provides the latest information on addressing emerging challenges in public health.

  • eCQI Resource Center - (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), HHS, Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC), HHS) 

    This resource provide a centralized location for news, information, tools and standards related to electronic clinical quality improvement and electronic clinical quality measures

    Credit: U.S. National Library of Medicine, HSRIC: Quality

Maps and Directions

.