Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Covidence

Covidence

Importing Citations into Covidence

Once you have finalized your search strategy in each database, you are ready to import the results!  Click here for information on translating a search string from PubMed into other databases.

The usual process is for researchers to first develop a search strategy in each database, and then import the entire sets of results into Covidence.  You do not pick and choose specific citations to import.  Covidence offers an easy-to-use title/abstract screening function. It also automatically de-duplicates upon import!  For this reason, database results are imported "en masse" and reseachers go through the entire set of de-duplicated citations, deciding which to include, in the various screening stages (Title/Abstract and then Full Text Screening). 

To import citations into Covidence from the various databases, see the column to the left for step-by-step instructions for several popular databases.

Covidence will accept any citation as long as it is in.RIS format.  Most databases and journal website provide the option to save a citation as a .RIS file. 

Do you have an unusual item you'd like to import into Covidence, such as a webpage or presentation?  Many citation managers (such as RefWorks) accept these types of information sources, and allow you to manually create a citation from whatever information you have (for example, URL, date accessed, title of webpage, etc.).  If you can create an entry in a citation manager for such an item, then you can export that entry as an RIS file and import it into Covidence.

 

Maps and Directions

.