Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Clinical Nutrition

This guide provides an overview of resources and search strategies for clinical nutrition research.

Other Databases

While databases such as PubMed or Scopus may be the most appropriate when conducting research, there are additional options that may be helpful.

  • PsycInfo: The American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. PsycInfo is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
  • Academic Search Complete: Academic Search Complete contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier contains full text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and more.
  • Business Source Elite: This business database provides full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 450 peer-reviewed business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
  • Cochrane Library: The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
  • ERIC: The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
  • LILACS: LILACS is a bibliographic index of health sciences literature published in the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.
  • Native Health Database: The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The databases provide information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.

Grey literature is information not commercially published. Examples include conference proceedings and abstracts, dissertations and theses, white papers, government reports, technical notes and reports, and others. Grey literature can provide valuable information for systematic reviews. Below are some resources for finding grey literature.

  • AccessMedicine: AccessMedicine is designed for direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions or conducting research.
  • Alexander Street Press: A video database that includes access to Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volumes I, II and III; Health and Society in Video; Nursing Education in Video; and Rehabilitation Therapy in Video.
  • ClinicalKey: ClinicalKey is a dynamic clinical resource designed to provide physicians with fast, clinically-relevant answers from Elsevier’s enormous library of proprietary medical and surgical content.
  • MAS Ultra: This database includes full text for over 700 popular magazines and over 300 reference books dating back to 1975. It also offers a large collection of images, biographies, and primary source documents.
  • VisualDx: VisualDx is a web-based visual decision support tool, merging medical images with a problem-oriented findings-based search.

Maps and Directions

.