Skip to main content

Guide to the Basics

A brief overview of the resources available at the Library of Rush University Medical Center

You Found It! Now What?

You've found a great article (or two!).  If the information provided is a citation, not full text, how do you get the full text?  The steps to retrieve the full text of articles from these journals are easy, but until you are familiar with them, it’s not always straightforward.

Although there are exceptions, there are three basic scenarios:

1. Is there a green "Get it @ Rush" button?  Click that and you will be given options for full text access.

2. Do you know the title of the journal?  You can often find the full text by looking in the journal that published the article (find the journal by using the purple e-Journals tab on the library home page).

3. If all else fails, request an article electronically via InterLibrary Loan (ILLiad). You will receive an email when the full text is available to download.

 

View the boxes below for detailed instructions on each of these methods.

 

Always begin at the Library homepage: 

1. Find it Using the Green Get it @ Rush Button

The Get It @RUSH Button is the easiest way to obtain the full text of an article from within a database.  A citation from the PubMed database is shown as an example.

.

 

In the window that appears after you click Get It @ RUSH, if Rush offers full-text access to the article, a link or links will be listed under the heading “Full Text.”

 

Clicking on one of the provided links will usually bring you directly to the article in another database, as shown below. On occasion, you will be brought to the base page of the journal. In this case, you should browse by volume and issue or use the site's search feature to locate your article.

 

You may now print or save the pdf of the article!

 

2. Find it Within the Journal

Select the purple eJournals tab.

Type the title of the journal from your citation in the search box and click Search.  You may also browse journal titles alphabetically.

Clicking on the title of the journal link brings us to the publisher's website.  Having gotten to this website through the Library's webpage, the site "knows" your access privileges and will allow full access.  You can search within the journal using the box provided, such as the one shown at the bottom of the screen. You may also browse the journal by volume and issue.

 

3. Placing an InterLibrary Loan Request

If the item you want isn't immediately available, that probably means that we don't have a subscription to that journal, or haven't purchased that book.  Try inter-library loan!   We have two inter-library loan systems set up, and a separate guide to help you use them (see below). 

Search the Library's Website

Maps and Directions

.