This page compiles our current blog contributions and previous posts on the Rush InPerson blog. Explore these posts to learn more about the history of Rush and the Rush Archives collections. This page also includes articles written by Rush Archives researchers who have utilized our resources and some news stories related to the Rush Archives.
Subscribe to the Rush Archives Blog: rushu.libguides.com/blog
Follow us on Twitter: @RushArchives
Blog posts from 2022:
VIDEO: Rush University 50th Anniversary Video via YouTube [May 2, 2022]
VIDEO: Celebrating Women's History: Role in the Medical Field via NBC 5 Chicago featuring Sherine Gabriel, MD, MSc, President, Rush University, and Rush archivist, Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS [March 3, 2022]
From the Rush Archives: David Jones Peck, MD (Part 4) [February 27, 2022]
VIDEO: Emily Blackwell at Rush Medical College: Janice Nimura, author of The Doctors Blackwell, speaks at Rush [February 2, 2022]
History of Rush University Medical Center's Campus from Rush News [January 12, 2022]
Blog posts from 2021:
From the Rush Archives: David Jones Peck, MD (part 3 of 4) [February 15, 2021]
From the Rush Archives: David Jones Peck, MD (Part 2 of 4) [February 8, 2021]
From the Rush Archives: David Jones Peck, MD (Part 1 of 4) [February 1, 2021]
From the Rush Archives: Glaucoma Awareness Month and Ophthalmology at Rush [January 28, 2021]
From the Rush Archives: Braille Literacy Month and Braille in Rush History [January 26, 2021]
From the Rush Archives: Blood Donor Month and Rush's Historic Blood Bank [January 19, 2021]
From the Rush Archives: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day at Rush since 1974 [January 14, 2021]
Blog posts from 2020:
Happy New Year! Remembering Y2K at Rush [December 29, 2020]
Jane Addams Day (Dec. 10) and Rush's Central Free Dispensary [December 10, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: Happy Thanksgiving! Follow us on Twitter! [November 26, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: Happy Halloween from Rush Medical College, 1895! [October 29, 2020]
In Memoriam: Arnold Goldberg, 1929-2020: Rush psychiatry professor was expert in self psychology and led Institute for Psychoanalysis from Voices from Rush [October 2020]
Anesthesia at Rush: Then and Now (Honoring World Anesthesia Day, Oct. 16) [October 13, 2020]
Ask an Archivist Day! How Old is the Rush Archives? [October 7, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: Medical Education during the Germ Theory Transition [September 29, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: National Preparedness Month and Hospital Disaster Rehearsals [September 22, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: Commemorating World Patient Safety Day, September 17 [September 17, 2020]
In Memoriam: Rush Neurosurgery Pioneer Walter Whisler, MD, PhD, 1934-2020 [September 17, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: Remembering "Our Mexican Patients," 1925 [September 15, 2020]
Announcement: Share Your COVID-19 Stories with the Rush Archives [September 10, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: Remembering the Opening of PSLHSN, 1957 [September 8, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: International Day of Charity, September 5, and RCSIP [September 3, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: College Colors Day, September 5 [September 1, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: National Radio Day, August 20 [August 20, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: Honoring World Hepatitis Day, July 28 [July 28, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: World Snake Day, July 16 [July 15, 2020]
40 Years Ago: Rush University Registration, 1980 [July 9, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: Commemorating Scoliosis Awareness Month [June 23, 2020]
Rush Archives Presentation (May 27) Now Online! [June 8, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: Want to learn more about Benjamin Rush? [Online event hosted by UPenn Libraries, June 10] [May 29, 2020]
Leonidas Berry [Rush Medical College, class of 1929] and the African Methodist Episcopal Church from the U.S. National Library of Medicine [May 21, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: The Williams Family Collection [May 14, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: Celebrating National Nurses Week [May 5, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: Honoring Autism Awareness Month [April 28, 2020]
From the Rush Archives: Honoring National DNA Day, April 25 [April 22, 2020]
Women's History Month: Isabella C. Herb, MD from Northwestern University's Galter Health Sciences Library [March 2020]
In Memoriam: Oncologist Janet Wolter, MD, 1926-2020 [February 2020]
Chicago’s first hospice donates papers to UIC: ‘We existed for our patients and families’, UIC Today [February 3, 2020]
A Tale of Two Solomons by Menachem Posner, chabad.org [February 2020]
Blog posts from 2019:
18 Earn Digital Archives Specialist Certificates from Society of American Archivists, SAA [November 2019]
Event: Battling for the Honor of ‘Old Rush’: Sports at Rush Medical College, 1892-1904, Chicago Area Medical Archivists Symposium [September 20, 2019]
Event: Unique Archival Resources for Genealogy Research, CCC and CAA at the Harold Washington Library [August 28, 2019]
Blog posts from 2018:
The Founding of Rush Medical College by Joseph deBettencourt, Rush Medical College student, in Hektoen International: A Journal of the Medical Humanities [August 23, 2018]
Life-Saving Poison Control Centers Have Origins at Rush, The Watermark newsletter of the ALHHS [Fall 2018]
Life-Saving Poison Control Centers Have Origins at Rush [August 13, 2018]
Acknowledgements: The manuscript works of S. Fred Prince (1857–1949) by S. B. Calahan and J. W. Dean, Archives of Natural History [April 2018]
Blog posts from 2017:
Rush in the First World War: L. C. Gatewood, MD, World War One Centennial Commission 
Women Physicians at Rush, 1900-1920 [March 27, 2017]
In Memoriam: Rush Orthopedics Pioneer Jorge Galante, 1934-2017 [February 13, 2017]
Blog posts from 2016:
From the Rush Archives: Tolerance [December 21, 2016]
Time Capsule Reveal at Rush University Medical Center from the Conservation Center newsletter [October 28, 2016]
Fashion Forward: Ninety Years of Supporting Rush [October 3, 2016]
Event: Tour of Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago Area Archivists [September 20, 2016]
Holding on to Pieces of Rush's Past [February 15, 2016]
References: Stein and Leventhal: 80 years on by Ricardo Azziz, MD, MPH, MBA, and Eli Y. Adashi , MD, MS, American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology [February 1, 2016]
Blog posts from 2015:
In Memoriam: Reginald "Hats" Adams, 1940-2015 [November 17, 2015]
Blog posts from 2014:
From the Rush Archives: James B. Herrick, MD [March 27, 2014]
Bringing Christmas Cheer to the Children's Ward, 1940 [December 10, 2014]
Blog posts from 2013:
From the Rush Archives: A Visit from St. Nick [December 6, 2013]
Rush Medical College and the Great Chicago Fire [September 23, 2013]
From the Rush Archives: Nursing Through the Years [May 7, 2013]
From the Rush Archives: Baby Check-up Day, 1923 [March 28, 2013]
From the Rush Archives: First Electrocardiograph, 1913 [February 6, 2013]
From the Rush Archives: "The Thrills of Television," 1949 [January 10, 2013]
Blog posts from 2012:
From the Rush Archives: Christmas Caroling, 1938 [December 17, 2012]
From the Rush Archives: Into the Tunnel [October 31, 2012]
From the Rush Archives: Surgery at St. Luke's, 1913 [October 30, 2012]
From the Rush Archives: Dietetics Class, 1907 [September 27, 2012]
From the Rush Archives, Snake Surgery, 1983 [July 5, 2012]
News: Heather Stecklein to bid farewell to Chicago in July, CAMA blog [June 26, 2012]
From the Rush Archives: Rush Commencement, 1992 [June 4, 2012]
Remembering Rush's Wartime Heroes [May 25, 2012]
From the Rush Archives: Flag Day, 1991 [June 14, 2012]
From the Rush Archives: Rush Security, 1987 [May 8, 2012]
From the Rush Archives: Daniel A. Jones Building, 1917 [April 17, 2012]
From the Rush Archives: Time Capsule Opening, 1924 [March 6, 2012]
From the Rush Archives: Rush's 150th Birthday, 1987 [February 20, 2012]
Against the Grain Star of the Week: Nathalie Wheaton [February 10, 2012]
AIDS: Haring Murals Live on at Rush University Medical Center, Windy City Times [February 8, 2012]
History of the Illinois Medical District, Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [January 5, 2012]
From the Rush Archives: Rush's New Hospital, 1982 [January 5, 2012]
Blog posts from 2011:
John Benjamin Murphy, 1857-1916, Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [October 11, 2011]
Isabella C. Herb, 1869-1943, Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [August 19, 2011]
James Bryan Herrick, 1861-1954, Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [May 2, 2011]
Frank Billings, 1854-1932, Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [May 2, 2011]
Ludvig Hektoen, 1884-1951, Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [March 25, 2011]
Arthur Dean Bevan, 1861-1943, Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [March 25, 2011]
Rush Archives Service Hours:
The Rush Archives offers on-site services one day a week. Often, we can assist researchers using digital resources.
Please explore this webpage and our online resources before contacting the Rush Archives for assistance.
Summer 2022 Update: We will have limited appointment availabilities this summer but will try our best to accommodate researchers.
Submit Request to Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS, Archivist: Ask the Rush Archives
Note for researchers: Internal reference requests are given precedence. External requests will be addressed as time allows. However, our website will lead you to a number of digital resources from the Rush Archives that may meet your information needs.
Visiting the Rush Archives: In-person visits from researchers must be approved by the archivist ahead of time.
Location: 1700 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 086, Chicago, IL 60612.
Using our Material in your Publication/Exhibit/Presentation: Contact the Archivist for a Permission to Publish form and fee table.
Citing our Collections: Footnotes or captions should indicate the collection or other identifying information from our finding aids. Please contact the Archivist for more information. Basic format for citation:
[Identification of item], in the [Name of Collection] [Collection Number], Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill.
Looking for Medical Records/Patient Records? Visit Rush University Medical Center's Health Information Management Office.
Looking for Student Records/Transcripts? Visit Rush University's Office of the Registrar.
Looking for Verification/Credentials for Residency or Fellowship Programs? Visit Graduate Medical Education.
Looking for Birth, Death or other Vital Records? Visit the Illinois Department of Public Health.
The Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill., is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University.
The Rush Archives strives to tell the story of Rush and its esteemed history of education, research, patient care, and community leadership in a meaningful way through our collections.
The Rush Archives holds almost 3000 linear feet of material from Rush and its predecessor schools and hospitals going back to the founding of Rush Medical College in 1837, two days before the city of Chicago was incorporated. The Rush Archives also includes the personal papers of many individuals related to those institutions. Photographs, audiovisual material, paintings, artifacts, nursing school uniforms and caps, and digital assets document the history of Rush, also.
The Rush Archives preserves, identifies, organizes, and provides access to records of long-term historical, evidential, and administrative value to the institution.
Follow the Rush Archives on Twitter: @RushArchives
We're counting down to the 50th Anniversary of Rush University, 2022! Follow our #RU50 hashtag on Twitter for a new year each week!
Subscribe to the Rush Archives Blog: rushu.libguides.com/blog
The Rush Archives COVID-19 Collection needs you! rushu.libguides.com/rusharchives/COVIDCollection
-Rush is a proud member of the Chicago Collections Consortium.