Skip to main content

Rush University Medical Center Archives: Digital Collections

Welcome to the Rush University Medical Center Archives. The Rush Archives, a department of the Library of Rush University Medical Center, is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University.

Rush Archives Digital Collections

This page brings together our wide variety of digital collections.

  • Thousands of items from the Rush Archives [via the Internet Archive.]
  • Many Woman's Board Fashion Show Scrapbooks and MORE [via ISSUU.]
  • Featured photographs from the Rush Archives collections [via Flickr.]
  • Rush Medical College class photographs, 1879-1920, are available online [via CARLI Digital Collections.]

Annual Reports, Newsletters, Yearbooks, and more (Internet Archive)

Hundreds of our most used documents have been digitized and are available on the Internet Archive. Visit our Internet Archive page at http://www.archive.org/details/rushuniversity.

  1. RESEARCH TIP: To perform keyword searches for a collection of items, select "Text contents" for the search box.
  2. RESEARCH TIP: These items are downloadable in a variety of formats. 
Annual reports and newsletters from Rush and its predecessor institutions:
RESEARCH TIP: These documents are full of information regarding these institutions and their related nursing schools. You will also find fantastic photos within their pages. 
 
Annual Announcements (school catalogs/bulletins), Yearbooks, Alumni Newsletters from the following schools:
 A variety of publications written by early Rush Medical College faculty.

Woman's Board Digital Collections, Rush Newsletters, and more (ISSUU)

This collection is a selection of materials from The Woman's Board of Rush University Medical Center and its predecessors, including Woman's Board Fashion Show scrapbooks and posters going back to 1927. For more information on the group and its mission, view the organization's official page at http://thewomansboard.org/.

This ISSUU account also features a variety of items from the Rush Archives:

Rush Medical College Class Photographs (CARLI Digital Collections)

From Rush Medical College class photograph, 1879The Rush Medical College Class Photographs date back to 1879. The Rush Archives has digitized a selection of the earliest images through 1920. They are now available online through CARLI Digital Collections.

Featured Photos (Flickr)

Rush Archives Featured Photos

Using the Rush Archives

Rush Archives Service Hours: 

Monday-Wednesday, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Contact the Archivist: 

Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS / (312) 942-6358

Outside of Service Hours:  For very urgent requests outside of service hours, please contact the Library of Rush at lib_ref@rush.edu

Note for researchers: Internal reference requests are given precedence. External requests will be addressed as time allows. However, this webpage will lead you to a number of digital resources from the Rush Archives that may meet your information needs.

Visiting the Rush Archives: In-person visits from researchers from outside of Rush must be approved by the archivist ahead of time.

Location: 1700 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 086, Chicago, IL 60612.

Using our Material in your Publication/Exhibit/Presentation: Contact the Archivist for a Permission to Publish form and fee table.

Citing our Collections: Footnotes or captions should indicate the collection or other identifying information from our finding aids. Please contact the Archivist for more information. Basic format for citation:

[Identification of item], in the [Name of Collection] [Collection Number], Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill.

Looking for Medical Records/Patient Records? Visit Rush University Medical Center's Health Information Management Office.

Looking for Student Records/Transcripts? Visit Rush University's Office of the Registrar.

About Our Collections

The Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill., is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University.

The Rush Archives strives to tell the story of Rush and its esteemed history of education, research, patient care, and community leadership in a meaningful way through our collections.

The Rush Archives holds almost 3000 linear feet of material from Rush and its predecessor schools and hospitals going back to the founding of Rush Medical College in 1837, two days before the city of Chicago was incorporated. The Rush Archives also includes the personal papers of many individuals related to those institutions. Photographs, audiovisual material, paintings, artifacts, nursing school uniforms and caps, and digital assets document the history of Rush, also. 

The Rush Archives preserves, identifies, organizes, and provides access to records of long-term historical, evidential, and administrative value to the institution. 

Search the Library's Website

Maps and Directions

.