Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rush Archives Blog

From the Rush Archives: Honoring National DNA Day (April 25)

by Nathalie Wheaton on 2020-04-22T10:28:00-05:00 in History | Comments

April 25 is National DNA Day, a day to commemorate the discovery of the double helix structure of DNA in 1953.

-Post contributed by Rush Archives Work Study Student Kirsten Petrarca, Doctoral Student in Audiology, Rush University.

In 1987, University Research Week at Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Medical Center* featured keynote speaker Salvador E. Luria, MD. Dr. Luria was a professor emeritus at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and won the Nobel Prize in 1969 for his research on molecular genetics and biology. His keynote address, titled “Adventures in the Gene Trade,” summarized the history of gene research, including the discovery of DNA.

You can learn more about this event in the May 1987 issue of the Rush newsletter, NewsRounds**:

archive.org/details/newsrounds19871987rush/page/n49/mode/2up

Want to learn more about the history of Rush or the Rush Archives collections? Explore the Rush Archives website, or contact the archivist, Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS.

*Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center was renamed Rush University Medical Center in 2003, to better reflect its status as a leading academic research center. 

**From the Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center newsletter, NewsRounds, May 1987, page 2, NewsRounds Collection, #4719, Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Twitter
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

Maps and Directions

.