Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rush Archives Blog

From the Rush Archives: Honoring Autism Awareness Month

by Nathalie Wheaton on 2020-04-28T08:00:00-05:00 in History | Comments

April is Autism Awareness Month! Commemorate this special month by taking a look at the services available at Rush for children, adolescents, and adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) and their families.

-Post contributed by Rush Archives Work Study Student Kirsten Petrarca, Doctoral Student in Audiology, Rush University.

In 2009, Rush’s Autism Resource Center – a comprehensive online and phone referral source – was launched by Natalie Forburger, MA, LPC; Hollie Sobel, PhD; and Louis Kraus, MD. The Autism Resource Center has since expanded and become the Autism Assessment, Research, Treatment and Services (AARTS) Center, which provides comprehensive services, support, and research opportunities for individuals with ASD and their families. For more information, visit the AARTS Center at Rush page :

https://www.rush.edu/services/autism-assessment-research-treatment-and-services-center.

You can learn more about the opening of this center in the October 2009 issue of Rush’s newsletter, NewsRounds*:

https://archive.org/details/NewsRounds2009/page/n49/mode/2up

Click on the image to view the piece from 2009:

Want to learn more about the history of Rush or the Rush Archives collections? Explore the Rush Archives website, or contact the archivist, Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS.

*From the Rush University Medical Center newsletter, NewsRounds, October 2009, page 7, NewsRounds Collection, #4719, Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Twitter
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

Maps and Directions

.