Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rush Archives Blog

From the Rush Archives: Commemorating Better Hearing and Speech Month

by Nathalie Wheaton on 2020-05-12T08:00:00-05:00 in History | Comments

Since 1927, May has been designated as Better Hearing and Speech Month by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.

-Post contributed by Rush Archives Work Study Student Kirsten Petrarca, Doctoral Student in Audiology, Rush University.

In 1996, Rush recognized Better Hearing and Speech Month by interviewing the chairman of the Department of Communication Disorder and Sciences, Dianne Meyer, PhD, CCC-A, and Rush audiologist, Amy Archer, MAud, CCC-A. Meyer and Archer reviewed the prevalence and common risk factors of hearing loss in adults and urged anyone with a concern for their hearing to get their hearing checked.

You can find “Now Hear This: Ways to Prevent Hearing Loss,” in the April 1996 issue of Rush’s newsletter, NewsRounds*:

https://archive.org/details/newsrounds19961996rush/page/n29/mode/1up

Click on the image to view the entire piece from 1996:

Want to learn more about the history of Rush or the Rush Archives collections? Explore the Rush Archives website, or contact the archivist, Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS.

*From NewsRounds, April 1996, from the NewsRounds Collection, #4719, Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill.

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Twitter
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

Maps and Directions

.