Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rush Archives Blog

From the Rush Archives: Celebrating National Ice Cream Month (and Room 600!)

by Nathalie Wheaton on 2020-07-21T08:00:00-05:00 in Nursing, History | Comments

We all scream for ice cream!

Traditionally, enjoying an ice cream treat has been a great way to celebrate accomplishments at Rush. In 1980, Rush’s Department of Operating Room and Surgical Nursing sponsored “Good Humor Day,” offering ice cream sundaes, a raffle of concert and movie tickets, and invitations to lunch in Room 600 with department chairperson, Nellie Abbot, PhD.

Surgical Nursing at Rush celebration, 1980CAPTION: Fran Jacobs, RN, (left) and Pat Jassak, RN, enjoy their ice cream sundaes forty years ago*.

"Wait, Room 600? Don’t you mean Room 500? "

Did you know that Rush's Professional Office Building (POB), changed the numbering of its floors in the early 1980s? You may have noticed that the first floor of the POB buildings starts with “G” or ground, instead of “1” for the first floor, as it is on most buildings on the Rush campus. This change was made to avoid confusion as guests move from one building to the next using the connecting bridges. The bridges connect on the fourth floors of the Rush buildings, which could only be accomplished by changing the floor numbers in the POB. So, Rush's private dining facility, Room 500, was once known as Room 600.

The original Professional Office Building was completed in 1965. POB II was added in 1982, and POB III was completed in 1992.

As for Fran Jacobs, RN, MS, AOCN, she went on to become Rush’s Patient Education Coordinator for many years, retiring from Rush in 2018. Read more about her accomplishments and how the Department of Quality Improvement works continuously for Rush patients in this piece from 2015, from The Wellness Network, “How Rush University Medical Center Found the Right Prescription for Better Health.” 
https://www.thewellnessnetwork.net/health-news-and-insights/insight-resources/rush-university-medical-center-found-right-prescription-better-health/ 

*From the Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center newsletter, NewsRounds, August/September 1980, page 8, NewsRounds Collection, #4719, Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill. https://archive.org/details/newsrounds19801980rush/page/n103/mode/2up

To learn more about the history of Rush or the Rush Archives collections, please visit our website or contact the archivist, Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS.
 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Twitter
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

Maps and Directions

.