Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rush Archives Blog

50 Years Ago: Lincoln Park Zoo Animals Visit Pediatric Patients at Rush, 1970

by Nathalie Wheaton on 2020-05-07T08:00:00-05:00 in History | Comments

From the Rush Archives: 50 Years Ago...

A chimpanzee named Sharuri-Jet hangs out with a friend from the Lincoln Park Traveling Zoo. A parade of animals came to visit pediatric patients at Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center* in August 1970. Besides Sharuri-Jet, zoo friends included one boa constrictor, two turtles, an iguana, a guinea pig, a rabbit, and a three-month old barn owl.

Rush is a member of the Chicago Collections Consortium. The member institutions of Chicago Collections collaborate, uniting their resources, to offer access and exciting learning experiences to both the general public and academic researchers. This Rush Archives image can also be found on the Chicago Collections Explore portal online:

https://explore.chicagocollections.org/image/rush/162/9g5hn88/

Want to learn more about the history of Rush or the Rush Archives collections? Explore the Rush Archives website, or contact the archivist, Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS.

*Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center was renamed Rush University Medical Center in 2003, to better reflect its status as a leading academic research center. 

From the Subject Photograph Collection, #P3607, Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill. Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, Ill., holds reproduction and licensing rights. For more information, please email: rush_archives@rush.edu


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Twitter
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

Maps and Directions

.