This guide provides details for using Rush Library databases on Mobile Devices compiled by the Reference Librarians here at Rush.
Are you obsessed with a mobile app that is not listed on this page? Click "submit" below to tell us about it!
The following databases have software and/or apps available for individual purchase.
Database with current research articles and medical references. Very good for checking drugs and drug interactions. Requires free registration.
- Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
- Nursing Reference Center
To register for mobile access, follow the link provided above, and click on the "New: NRC iPhone/iPod Touch Application" link at the bottom of the page.
- PubMed on Tap for Apple (iOS) devices
PubMed On Tap searches PubMed and PubMed Central to find, display, and import reference information and pdfs of the full article (if you have access privileges). You can search your personal reference library, organize your references in groups (static and smart), and email references from your device to yourself or others in a form suitable for reading or importing into desktop reference management applications.
- UpToDate Mobile
To use the UpToDate Mobile, you will first need create your UpToDate Anywhere account by filling out this form
Once you have created your account, return to the app and log in using your personal login and password. You will be granted access to the app for 30 days each time you log into UpToDate from an on-campus location. If 30 days pass without logging into your UpToDate account from Rush's campus, you will lose access until you return to campus and successfully log in.
You may install the UpToDate Mobile App on up to two devices. UpToDate is available for:
All EBSCOhost databases have mobile-friendly interfaces. Off-campus users will need to login with their EZProxy username and password.
The following are useful general resources which have mobile-friendly sites.
Allows users to select their favorite medical journals and store articles for viewing. Works with Library’s proxy system to give access to institutional subscriptions.
MedPage Today Mobile puts breaking medical news, comprehensive reference information and FREE CME/CE credits at your fingertips, with daily coverage of over 30 specialties and annual coverage of over 60 meetings and symposia.
- New England Journal of Medicine (apple iOS)
Provides content for current issue, including Online First publications. Includes articles, images, audio and video entries. Unfortunately, it is not currently possible to access Rush's institutional subscription through the app. Individual subscribers have access to the full content of NJEM's archives as well as current content.
It is still possible to access Rush's subscription to the NJEM using a mobile browser. Following our links to the New England Journal of Medicine and the New England Journal of Medicine Archives
provides full-text access to articles from 1946 through the present in a mobile-friendly web interface.
- Read by QxMD
Read by QxMD’ provides a single place to discover new research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed. It provides a simple interface that drives discovery and seamless access to the medical literature by reformatting it into a personalized digital medical journal.
- AHRQ ePSS (Electronic Preventative Services Selector)
The ePSS application was developed to assist primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients based on the recommendations of USPSTF. Enter patient data, and the app will give you screening recommendations.
- Neurolocalizer (for Apple iOS)
Neuro Localizer is a free application for medical professionals – or for anyone who wants to know more about how the nervous system works - interested in exploring the basics of neurologic localization.
Focused on highlighting tools which are actually useful in clinical practice and serve to impact diagnosis, treatment or determining prognosis. Point-of-care tools in the areas of cardiology, internal medicine, nephrology, general practice, hematology, gastroenterology, emergency medicine, oncology, orthopedics, respirology, neurology, neurosurgery, general surgery and obstetrics.
- Radiation Emergency Medical Management
- Shots by STFM
Shots by STFM is a quick reference guide to the 2011 Childhood, Adolescent, and Adult Immunization Schedules for the United States.
An invaluable clinical decision-support tool for physicians, nurses, students and other HCPs.
- Animated Essential Atlas of Anatomy
A sound knowledge of the structure and function of the human body in all of its intricacies is the foundation of medical education. The Focus Animated Essential Atlas of Anatomy and Physiology is one such tool that provides enormous ways to learn, review and teach the human anatomical systems and their physiology.
- CPR game (Apple iOS)
The CPR Game is a unique and fun cardiac arrest simulator for persons with advanced CPR training. It has been developed to help healthcare/medical students, residents, paramedics and nurses become more proficient in advanced CPR. It is designed for someone who has taken BLS, ACLS or ATLS.
- Essential Anatomy
Essential Anatomy contains over 2,500 highly detailed anatomic structures. Each one of these structures allows the user to access the correct audio pronunciation in English, along with the associated Latin nomenclature. Essential Anatomy is designed to be a seamless and fluid 3D experience. Simple navigation allows the user to intuitively find, isolate and bookmark any anatomic structure of arrangement.
- First Aid (American Red Cross)
Provides lessons and tests for a variety of common medical conditions including allergies, wounds, strokes, heart attacks, burns, choking, seizures, unconsciousness, etc. Provides the absolute basic and tells you to call 911 and wait most of the time. Gives first aid preparedness steps in the event of emergencies.
- Genetics for Medics
Includes more than 200 common syndromes. It allows searching by symptoms and shows chromosomal locations of conditions. This app provides a quiz feature.
- Heart Murmur Pro - The Heart Sound Database (Apple iOS)
Learn heart murmurs the easiest way possible with Heart Murmur Pro. With 23 heart sounds included along with a wealth of clinically relevant information for each, you'll master heart sounds in no time at all.
- Hematology Outlines (Apple iOS)
The Hematology Atlas allows multiple interactive options (e.g. rapid side-by-side comparisons of the individual entities, etc.), encompasses the normal and abnormal hematologic entities and displays them all through a very user-friendly environment.
- iLarynx (Apple iOS)
Designed to reduce the learning curve of using the bronchoscope. It allows students to see what to expect when performing intubation before progressing to practice mannequins.
- iStethoscope Pro (Apple iOS)
iStethoscope Pro turns your iPhone into a stethoscope, allowing you to listen to your heatbeat and see your heart waveform, or listen to other quiet sounds around you.
- Muscle & Bone Anatomy 3D
Exposes the different layers of muscle within the human body. Rotating the model in one direction will slowly remove superficial layers exposing deeper muscles until the skeleton is reached. Includes quizzes.
- Nurse Tabs
Nurse Tabs comes in three parts, Fundamentals, Med Surg, Pharmacology. Or all three can be purchased as “Nurse Tabs Complete” for a reduced price. Complete allows the user to take and save note. Updates are free.
- Radiology 2.0 (Apple iOS)
Provides two ways to view the data it contains, by known diagnosis and by unknown. The discussion feature highlights the relevant parts of the scans and explains what can be deduced from said parts. In this manner, the discussion offers a detailed look at the imaging of many common Emergency Department presentations, offering a compelling introduction for non-radiologists and trainees to ER imaging pathology.
- Soundbuilder (Apple iOS)
A learning tool designed to help improve the auscultation skills of students and practicing clinicians. There are 14 unique lessons - based upon key heart sounds - that combine text, a virtual mannequin, 3D cardiac animation and dynamic waveforms. This tool is intended for educational purposes only. It is not intended for diagnostic purposes.
- DoctorCalc (Apple iOS)
A list of apps available including lab values, sedation, jaundice, vaccines, etc.
- Draw MD (Apple iOS)
Actually a series of apps- It has been recognized in lists of top 10 medical apps for at least the last 3 years. Currently 12 different specialties covered: General Surgery, OBGYN, Cardiology, Orthopedics, ENT, Urology, Vascular, Female Pelvic Surgery, Anesthesia and Critical Care, Pediatrics, Thoracic Surgery and Transplant Surgery. High quality illustration that can be marked up demonstrate complex surgical procedures: ideal for educating students and patients.
Another app listed over and over again among best free medical apps. A gateway to additional apps available for a fee.
- Eye Chart Pro (Apple iOS)
Eye Chart Pro is a randomizable visual acuity exam. It’s remote-controlled, pleasant for patients and providers, and FREE. Similar chart projector functionality usually costs over $1000!
- Medibabble Translator (Apple iOS)
Organized around standard history taking approaches. Comes with Spanish as a default, although additional languages can be downloaded free of charge.
- Wrist Repair
Interactive patient education app that demonstrates the Open Reduction Procedure. A common wrist fracture treatment used when the bone is fragmented or difficult to reduce and may require screws and a plate to hold the fragments in place.