Skip to main content

Help: Accessing Full Text

Finding full text for a written citation

Citations can be retrieved using using the Library of Rush University Medical Center’s eJournal list or using a database.

Let's try locating an article using the following citation as an example:

Cox J. Predictors of pressure ulcers in adult critical care patients. Am J. Crit Care. 2011 Sep;20(5):364-75. PubMed PMID: 21885457.

 

Use the eJournal List

The Library’s eJournal list is a searchable, alphabetical list of journal to which our library subscribes.

  1. From the library homepage, click on the eJournals tab.
  2. In the search box, type the title of the journal (American Journal of Critical Care)
  3. The results show which database(s) offer full text access to this journal, and the range of publication dates that each one offers. From the citation, we know that the article of interest was published in 2011. Select a database that includes full text of the journal for 2011.
  4. This takes us to the base page of the journal in the selected database. We can browse by year, volume, and issue or search for our article using the first few words of the article title.

 

Use a Database

You can also locate an electronic citation for your desired article through our databases and then use the green Get It @ Rush button to access the full text. For health science topics, we generally recommend using Scopus or PubMed.

Scopus

  1. Access Scopus from the Quick Links box on our homepage or through our A-Z database list.
  2. Enter the first several words of the article title into the search box, and click on the blue-green magnifying glass to search.
  3. If your article is listed in the results, click the green Get It @ Rush button to locate the full text

For further assistance using the Get It @ Rush button, please view the "Finding full text from a citation in a database" box to the right.

PubMed

  1. Access PubMed from the Quick Links box on our homepage or through our A-Z database list.
  2. Select Single Citation Matcher under the heading "PubMed Tools."
  3. Enter your citation information into the fields provided. To enter a minimum amount of information and still search effectively, we recommend completing the Journal, First page, and Author name fields.
  4. PubMed will either bring you to the full record for the desired article or will provide a list of results. Click on the title of the desired article to enter its record.
  5. Click the green Get It @ Rush button to locate the full text.

For further assistance using the Get It @ Rush button, please view the "Finding full text from a citation in a database" box below.

Finding full text from a citation in a database

You've identified an article you want through one of our library databases, but the full text isn't included. How do you access the full text?

Do you see that handy dandy green  button? Using this button is the easiest way to obtain the full text of an article from within any of our library databases. You can even use the Get It button on Google Scholar!

Clicking Get It @ Rush opens a Get It window, which will either connect you to the full text within the Library of Rush University Medical Center's databases or give you the option to request the article through interlibrary loan.

For assistance in the Get It window, click the tab, above, labeled 2: The Get It Window.

 

FAQ:

What is  ? 

Get It is based on a service called SFX.  It uses a technology called OpenURL to link from a citation in one database to the full text of the desired article in a different database or journal homepage. Without Get It, you would have to search several databases separately to find the full text. Users can also use Get It for other services, such as requesting Interlibrary Loan.


Will  work from off campus?

Yes – users who have a proxy account will be able to use Get It to find full text articles & other services. Proxy accounts are automatically generated for Rush students and employees. If you have questions about using your proxy account, please call the library at (312) 942-5950


When I clicked the "Full Text Available via" link, I ended up at the journal's home page instead of the full text article. Why?

We are not able to link directly to articles in every e-journal. Get It will take users as close to the article as possible, usually to the journal home page or table of contents. From there, you will need to navigate to the article you want.


Why are there multiple options for the full text of some articles?

The Library of Rush University Medical Center sometimes has overlapping subscriptions to electronic journals.  In most cases, full text access comes directly from the journal publisher’s web site.  However, many of our electronic journals come from aggregators like EBSCOhost or Elsevier's ScienceDirect. While there may be an overlap in journal titles, often, the coverage dates for these journals are different.

We make multiple options available for users in case of service outages or coverage date differences. Users may find that they prefer one database interface over another.


How can I make a comment about  or report a broken link?

If you encounter any technical problems, please let us know. You can do so by using the “Report a Problem” service on the Get It menu, or by calling the Library at (312) 942-5950.


Where can I get research help?

Librarians are available to assist you Monday – Thursday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. and  9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on Friday or by appointment. You reach a librarian by calling the Library Service Desk at (312) 942-5950 or by emailing lib_ref@rush.edu. You can also click "Ask a Question" in the upper right side of our website to submit an electronic form.

If Rush has full-text access...

The Get It window will include one or more links under the heading Full Text. Follow any of these links to view the full text article in one of our library databases.

 

What if a full text link doesn't work?

If any of the full text links do not work, click Report a Problem near the bottom of the Get It window. We will do our best to fix the issue and help you to access the full text.


 

If Rush does not have full-text access...

The Get It window will provide a link to request a PDF copy of the article through interlibrary loan. Click ILLiad and log in to our interlibrary loan system to submit an article request form. Article PDFs are delivered by email and usually take fewer than three business days to arrive.

For instructions on requesting articles through interlibrary loan, see our You've Found It! helpsheet at the bottom of this page or click on the tab, above, labeled 3: ILLiad.

 

If the Library of Rush University Medical Center does not have access to the full text, you will be prompted to "Request a PDF of this article via ILLiad."

This notification means that, while our library does not have access to the full text of an article or book chapter, we can request it for you from another library. Requested items will be emailed to you in PDF format.

Follow the steps outlined below to request an item through ILLiad. We are also more than happy to walk you through the process in person or over the phone (312-942-5950).


  1. "Get It @ Rush" window
  2. You should now see the ILLiad Logon screen.
  3. Create an ILLiad account: Fill in all required fields and click "Submit Information."
  4. Return to the the "Get It @ Rush" browser window (see image in Step 1) and, again, click the "ILLiad" link.
  5. An article request form will open in a new browser tab.
  6. You're all done! Nearly 80% of all requests are filled within 3 business days, though obtaining older material can take longer.
Loading

Google Scholar

Did you know you can ask Google Scholar to Get It @ Rush?

The handout below will show you how to add the Get It @ Rush button to your Google Scholar results.

Additional Help

For more help accessing full text articles at the Library of Rush University Medical Center, view the document below.

We are also more than happy to walk you through the process in person or over the phone (312-942-5950).

Search the Library's Website

Maps and Directions

.