Skip to main content

Help: How Do I Find....

How do I find....

To browse or search our databases, click on the Databases tab on our homepage. Browse for databases by title using the alphabetic links or search for databases by keyword.

 

You may also view a full alphabetical listing of our databases and browse by subject or type by clicking Databases under the Quick Links tab on our homepage.

Search and browse features on the A-Z Databases

If you need assistance in database selection, contact the Reference Department at 312-942-5950 or by email at lib_ref@rush.edu .  One of our reference librarians will be able to assist you. 

Looking for a journal article usually begins one of two ways:

  1. You know of an article or you have the citation for an article and you want to retrieve the full text
  2. You have a topic in mind and you are looking for scholarly information

 

If you have a citation:

If you do not have a full citation, you will need at least a journal and article title to locate the full text of an article. For instructions on locating full text, please view our Accessing Full Text guide via the tab above.

 

If you have a topic in mind:

Databases make it possible to search for a journal article citation according to subject or topic. After you choose a database, the key to finding useful citations is gathering terminology to describe your topic. Often there is more than one term for a concept. For example searching for "neoplasm" instead of "cancer" can reap more relevant citations, but searching with a more specific term (e.g., “breast cancer”) is most effective. Instructions for searching within individual databases are available on our Library Helpsheets page, accessible via the "Library Helpsheets" tab above.

Once you have identified useful citations within a database, you will need to locate the full text documents. If the database in which you located the citation contains the full text, you will find a link to the full text in HTML or PDF format. If not, you should use the green Get It @ Rush button to locate the full text within another database or to request a copy through interlibrary loan. For full instructions, please visit our Accessing Full Text guide, accessible via the "Library Helpsheets" tab above.

Coming soon!

Please view our Medical Images guide, linked below, which lists sources for medical images through the Library of Rush University Medical Center and on the world wide web.

Loading

Search the Library's Website

Maps and Directions

.