Skip to main content

Rush University Medical Center Archives: Photograph Collections

Welcome to the Rush University Medical Center Archives. The Rush Archives, a department of the Library of Rush University Medical Center, is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University.

Photograph Collections

The Rush Archives holds thousands of photographs related to Rush from the 1870s to the present day.

-To explore a selection of our most well-known images, visit our Flickr page.

-You can also find interesting pictures within our digitized annual reports, newsletters, and yearbooks. Explore these items online through the Internet Archive.

-The Rush Archives holds class photographs from Rush Medical College, the nursing schools of St. Luke's, Presbyterian, and Presbyterian-St. Luke's Hospitals, and for Rush University. Below are descriptions of class photographs for our predecessor schools, which include names of alumni. 

-Our oldest Rush Medical College Class Composites  (1879-1920) are available online through CARLI Digital Collections. Looking for a class photo after 1920? Contact the Rush Archives.

Rush Archives Featured Photos

Using the Rush Archives

Rush Archives Service Hours: 

Monday-Wednesday, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Contact the Archivist: 

Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS / (312) 942-6358

Outside of Service Hours:

For very urgent requests outside of service hours, please contact the Library of RUMC at lib_ref@rush.edu

Note for researchers: Internal reference requests are given precedence. External requests will be addressed as time allows. However, this webpage will lead you to a number of digital resources from the Rush Archives that may meet your information needs.

Visiting the Rush Archives: In-person visits from researchers from outside of Rush must be approved by the archivist ahead of time.

The Rush Archives is located at 1700 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 086, Chicago, IL 60612.

Using our Material in your Publication/Exhibit/Presentation: Contact the Archivist for a Permission to Publish form and fee table.

Citing our Collections: Footnotes or captions should indicate the collection or other identifying information from our finding aids. Please contact the Archivist for more information. Basic format for citation:

[Identification of item], in the [Name of Collection] [Collection Number], Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill.

Looking for Medical Records/Patient Records? Visit Rush University Medical Center's Health Information Management Office.

Looking for Student Records/Transcripts? Visit Rush University's Office of the Registrar.

About Our Collections

The Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill., is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University. The Rush Archives holds almost 3000 linear feet of material from these two institutions and their predecessor schools and hospitals going back to the founding of Rush Medical College in 1837, two days before the city of Chicago was incorporated. The Rush Archives also includes the personal papers of many individuals related to those institutions. Photographs, audiovisual material, paintings, artifacts, nursing school uniforms and caps, and digital assets document the history of Rush, also. 

The Rush Archives preserves, identifies, organizes, and provides access to records of long-term historical, evidential, and administrative value to the institution. We strive to tell the story of Rush and its esteemed history of education, research, and patient care in a meaningful way through our collections.

Search the Library's Website

Maps and Directions

.